Investigations Division

The Investigations Division is comprised of 225 sworn police officer investigators and 40 civil investigators throughout the state.  Many of the police officer investigators have specialized skills such as: computer forensics; language; forensic accounting; and technical surveillance, i.e. wiretaps, bugs and cameras. 

Under the direction of the Chief Investigator, they are assigned throughout the state to the Organized Crime Task Force (OCTF).

The Medicaid Fraud Control Unit (MFCU), The Automobile Insurance Fraud Unit (AIFU), Investigations Downstate (New York City), Investigations East (Albany), and Investigations West (Buffalo).  Unless specifically assigned to a task force, investigators are assigned to work cases initiated in the various divisions of the Office of the Attorney General. 

The primary job function of the 40 civil investigators is to work to provide a defense in lawsuits brought against state agencies and employees.