Acting A.G. Underwood Joins Coalition Of 39 State Attorneys General Urging Congress To Fund Legal Services Corporation

 News from the New York Attorney General's Office

May 14, 2018

Attorney General’s Press Office / 212-416-8060


Bipartisan Letter Requests Robust Funding for LSC to Expand Access to Legal Services for Millions of Americans 

NEW YORK – Acting Attorney General Barbara D. Underwood today joined a bipartisan coalition of 39 state attorneys general in submitting letters to the U.S. House and U.S. Senate Committees on Appropriations to request funding for the Legal Services Corporation (LSC) in the Fiscal Year 2019 Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

LSC is a nonprofit legal services organization established by Congress in 1974 to promote equal access to justice for all Americans by funding independent nonprofit legal aid programs across the county. It is the single largest funder of civil legal aid for low-income Americans in the nation, providing millions of dollars to legal aid organizations that serve and support low-income individuals, veterans and military families, seniors, survivors of domestic violence, victims of natural disasters, and disabled individuals. In return, these funds save millions by keeping families safe, healthy and in their homes. 

“The Legal Services Corporation provides critical legal aid to our most vulnerable New Yorkers. It’s vital that Congress provide the robust funding LSC’s work deserves,” said Acting Attorney General Underwood. “Our office will continue to fight for equal justice for all New Yorkers.”

LSC distributes more than 90 percent of its funding to 133 independent nonprofit legal aid programs with more than 800 offices, which leverage the funding to build collaborations and provide pro bono services. It is headed by a bipartisan board of directors, whose 11 members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Massachusetts and Colorado co-sponsored today’s letter, which was joined by Alaska, American Samoa, California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, N. Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.