Office of the New York State Attorney General
Letitia James

Changes in New York State
Rent Law

New Laws Protecting All Residential Renters

Capping Security Deposits

- Landlords can only charge
up to one month of rent for a
security deposit or “advance
payment.” This applies to all
residential rentals, with a few
exceptions, whether you have
a lease or not.

> This means that if you are
moving info an apartment
where the rent is $1500

a month, the most your
landlord can charge for a
security deposit is $1500.

> This also means that your
landlord may not charge
you in advance for the last
month’s rent if you are also
paying a security deposit.

Limiting Late Payment Fees and Fees for Credit and Background
Checks

- Arent payment can only be considered late if it is received more than
five days after it is due.

- The most your landlord can charge as a late fee is $50 or 5%
of your monthly rent, whichever is less.

- Before signing a lease, the most a landlord can charge is $20
for a credit and background check.

- The landlord has to give you a copy of the background/credit check,
as well as an invoice from the company that performed it. Other
wise, they can’t charge you for it.

- You can provide your own background and credit check to avoid
any fees, as long as the background/credit check was done
in the past 30 days.



No More “Tenant Blacklists”

- A landlord cannot deny you an apartment, rental home, or any oth-

er type of rental based on a past legal conflict with a landlord. For ex-
ample, a landlord cannot deny you an apartment because you sued

your previous landlord to make repairs.

- If a landlord rejects your application after using a tenant screening
service (a company that landlords use to see if you have ever been
taken to court), and you have a past history of tenant-landlord dis-
putes, the law assumes that you were rejected because of this history,
and the landlord may have to pay a fine if they cannot give a good
reason for denying you.

Making It Easier to Break a Lease

- If you leave your apartment or other rental home before your lease
ends, your landlord has to make a good-faith effort to fill the vacancy.
If the landlord finds a new tenant, and the new tenant’s rent is equal
or higher to your rent, your lease is considered terminated and you
are no longer liable for the rent.

You Have a Right to a Receipt

- If you pay rent in cash or money order, your landlord must provide
you with a receipt. If you pay rent by check, you may also request

a receipt. You only have to ask once. After that, your landlord has
to give you a receipt every month. Your landlord must keep proof of
cash rent receipts for 3 years.

You Are Entitled to Notice of Past Due Rent

- Your landlord must send you a written notice by certified mail every
fime you are more than five days late with your rent. If your landlord

fails to provide you with the notice, you can raise this as a defense
in court.



New Protections in Case of Eviction

- If you lose a housing case and the judge orders your eviction, you
can ask the court for up to one year to move if you can show that

you cannot find a similar apartment in the same neighborhood. The
judge will take intfo account your health conditions, whether you have
children enrolled in school, the hardship on the landlord if you remain,
and any other life circumstances that could affect your ability to
MOVE.

- The new law strengthens protections for tenants against retaliatory
evictions and increases penalties for landlords who illegally lock
tenants out of their homes.

Your Rights in Non-Payment Evictions

- Your landlord cannot bring you to court for non-payment of rent
unless they have given you a 14-day written “rent demand.”

- Until you are evicted (i.e. the Sheriff or Marshal executes a warrant
of eviction), you can have your non-payment case dismissed if you
pay all rent that is owed.

- In a non-payment case, you can only be evicted for not paying your
rent. You cannot be evicted for non-payment of other fees (such as
late fees, legal fees, or any other “added” fee).

REMINDER:

When facing eviction, it is often a good idea to consult an
attorney. There are many free legal service providers across

New York State who can represent tenants who qualify for their
services. Check lawhelp.org. The Office of the Attorney General
cannot provide direct legal advice.

New Protections

for Residential Renters Who Do Not Live
in Rent-Stabilized or Rent-Controlled Housing

Making It Easier to Get Your Security Deposit Back

- Your landlord must return your security deposit within 14 days of
you moving ouft.

- If your landlord takes any money out of the security deposit for
damages, they must provide an itemized “receipt” describing the
damage and its cost. If your landlord doesn’t give you this receipt
within 14 days of moving out, then they must return your entire
security deposit, whether there is damage or not.



- If you are planning to move out, you can ask your landlord to inspect
the apartment (or rental home or other type of home rental) before
you move. They must allow you to be present during the inspection.
At that inspection, the landlord must tell you what needs to be fixed or
cleaned. You can then take care of the problems yourself fo prevent
the landlord from keeping part or all of your security deposit.

- If your landlord deliberately breaks this law, you may be entitled to
up to twice the amount of the security deposit.

REMINDER:

Our office may be able to help you get back your rent security deposit.
To request help, simply file a rent security complaint form with:

Office of the New York State Attorney General
Bureau of Consumer Frauds and Protection

28 Liberty Street ag.ny.gov
15th Floor (800) 771-7755
New York, NY 10005 TDD/TTY (800) 788-9898

Better Notice of Rent Increases and
Lease Non-Renewals

- If you live in an apartment that is not
rent stabilized or conftrolled, there is sfill
no limit on how much your landlord can
increase your rent. However, your
landlord must give you advanced
written notice before they can raise your
rent 5% or more.

- If your landlord decides not 1o renew your lease, they must also give
you advance written notice. This applies to month-to-month tenants
without a lease as well.

> If you have lived in your apartment two years or more, or if
you have a two-year lease, your landlord must provide you with
90 days advance written notice before raising your rent or not
renewing your lease.

> If you have lived in your apartment for more than one year, but
less than two years, your landlord must provide you with 60 days
advance notice before raising your rent or not renewing your lease.

> If you have lived in your apartment for less than one year, or have
a lease for less than one year, your landlord must provide you with
30 days advance notice before raising your rent or not renewing
your lease.



If your landlord does not provide you with the required written
notice, you have the right to remain in the apartment at your

current rent until you are given the written notice and the time
period that applies to you of 90, 60, or 30 days, expires.

New Protections
for Rent Regulated Tenants in New York

Rules for Major Capital Improvements (MCI) Increases

® The MCl formula has changed to limit the amount that landlords
may collect after performing a major capital improvement.

> The amount your landlord can raise your rent due to an MCl
increase is now capped at 2% of your current rent per year,
and there is no retroactive amount.

> This 2% cap also applies to MCl increases that happened
between June 16, 2012 and June 16, 2019 so any rent increase
going forward will be limited 10 2%.

® MCl increases cannot be added to your rent if there are any
“hazardous” or “immediately hazardous” violations at your
building. Your landlord must fix these violations before any MCl can
be authorized by state regulators.

- If fewer than 35% of the apartments in your building are rent
regulated, the landlord cannot get an MCl increase.

- MCl increases are now temporary and will be removed from your
rent after 30 years.

MAJOR CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT (MCI)

IS an increase in rent for a rent-stabilized or rent-controlled tenant,
based on the money spent by the landlord on building-wide
improvements. Landlords of rent regulated buildings who make
building-wide improvements (for example, replacing the boiler,
installing a new security system, or making major roof repairs) can

apply to DHCR (a State Agency) to increase their tenants’ rent.

If you believe your landlord is not following the law, you can
make a complaint to the New York State Department of Homes
and Community Renewal at hcr.ny.gov.




Rules for Individual Apartment Improvements (I1Al) Increases

- Landlords of rent-regulated buildings who make improvements to
individual apartments that are vacant or with written approval by
the tenant can raise the rent for that apartment, based on how much
it cost fTo make the improvements. This is called an IA

- The new law limits how much your landlord can increase your rent
because of an |Al

> For buildings with 35 or fewer apartments, the most a landlord
can raise the monthly rent due to an 1Al is $89.29. In buildings with

more than 35 units, the most a landlord can raise the monthly rent
due to an lAl is $83.33.

- Before a landlord can collect a rent increase due to an lAl, they must

first fix any “hazardous” or “immediately hazardous” violations in the
apartment.

- The landlord must use licensed contractors to perform any work it
intends to count as an IAl

- A landlord can only claim up to three |Als in a 15-year period.

Als will be removed from your rent after 30 years.

INDIVIDUAL APARTMENT IMPROVEMENTS (IAl) are
Improvements made by a landlord to an individual
apartment, usually when it is vacant.




Protections for Preferential Rents

- If you are paying a preferential rent, your landlord is no longer
allowed to revoke it and raise your rent to the higher legal requlated
rent.

- If you have a preferential rent, it will say so on your lease or on a
lease rider. The lease will show your legal rent, and if you have @
preferential rent, it will be shown in the section of the lease that says:
“Lower rent to be charged, if any.”

- This means that your landlord cannot raise your preferential rent
more than the percentage set by the Rent Guidelines Board, plus any
charges for MCl or |Al, if they apply.

No More Vacancy Increases
- Vacancy bonuses and longevity bonuses are now prohibited.

> The vacancy bonus allowed landlords to increase the rent
of an apartment up to 20% once it became vacant.

> The longevity bonus allowed landlords to increase the rent if the
previous tenant had been living in the apartment for eight years
or more.

Curbing the Deregulation of Apartments

- In most cases, landlords are no longer allowed to take an apartment
out of rent regulation when the rent is more than the “high-rent
threshold” and the apartment becomes vacant.*

- In most cases, landlords may no longer take an apartment out of
rent regulation if the fenant is considered “high-income.”*

- Apartments that were deregulated before June 15, 2019 will continue
fo be so. However, you should check your rent history, as the law now
allows you to look back at your apartment’s rent history to challenge
both the deregulation of your apartment and the rent you are being
charged.

*“High rent” and “high income” deregulation may still apply to rent
stabilized units in certain new buildings that receive tax abatements.

PREFERENTIAL RENT is when your landlord offers you a rent
regulated lease in which your rent payment is less than what that
landlord can legally charge under rent regulation.

To check your rent history, call the Office of Rent Administration at
(718) 739-6400, or visit portal.hcr.ny.gov/app/ask.




New Protections

for Rent Controlled Tenants

Limiting Rent Increases

* The highest amount a landlord
can increase your rent is the
average of the five most recent
Rent Guidelines Board annual Under the old law,
rent increases for one-year landlords could raise
renewals, or 7.5%, whichever is your rent up to 7.5%
less. every year in addition
to fuel pass-along

No More Fuel Pass-along Charges charges (plus any MCI

. Landlords may no longer and/or Al increases).

include fuel charges on your rent.

If you believe your landlord is not following the law, you can make

a complaint to the New York State Department of Homes and
Community Renewal at hcr.ny.gov.

New Protections

for Manufactured Home Parks

Limiting Rent Increases

- The new law limits how much a manufactured home park owner
can increase your rent, including the lot rent and any fees or utilities.

- In Most cases, rent increases are limited to 3%, but park owners can
raise the rent up to 6% if the increase is determined to be “justifiable.”

- If your park owner asks for a rent increase that is more than 3%, you
can challenge the increase in court. The judge will determine whether
the increase is justifiable.

Rent-to-Own Protections

- If you are entering into a rent-to-own agreement with a
manufactured home park owner, they must provide you with a
contract that clearly describes:

> The terms of the contract.

> Any and all fees, rent, or other charges due during the life of the
contract.



> The fair market value of the manufactured home.

> The responsibility of the manufactured home park owner to cover
major repairs and improvements during the rental period.

> All leases must include a rider regarding tenant rights.

> Every rent-to-own contract must state that until the fitle to the
property is transferred, you are occupying a rented home. It must
also state that until that time, the park owner is responsible for
keeping your home in habitable condition; making all major
repairs and improvements; and keeping it free from conditions that
would be dangerous to your health and safety.

- Once a year, you are entitled to an itemized account of all payments
that you made in relation to the rent-to-own contract.

- If your lease is terminated by the park owner, the owner must pay
back all of the rent-to-own payments that you paid in addition to any
lot and/or home rent.

Capping Fees

- A manufactured home park owner cannot demand that a tenant
pay attorneys’ fees unless they are awarded those fees by a court
order.

- Manufactured home park owners cannot collect late charges on
rent payments received within 10 days of the due date, and then only
if alate charge provision exists in the lease or manufactured home
park rules.

- The maximum allowed late fee on rent payments has been lowered
from 5% to 3%.

- Late charges cannot be compounded and are not considered to be
additional rent.

Better Notice of Changes of Use

- If a park owner wants their current residents to leave because they
are changing the manufactured home park to another use, the park
owner cannot begin eviction proceedings unftil two years after they
provide you with notice that they intend to change the use of the
park.

- If you own the manufactured home and the park owner wants you
to leave because they intend to change the use of the land, they have
to pay you a stipend of up to $15,000 in order to compensate you for
the cost of moving your home.



If you believe a manufactured home park owner is not following
the law, you may contact the New York State Department of
Homes and Community Renewal (hcr.ny.gov).

The Manufactured Homes Complaint Program Hotline is
(800) 432-42]10.
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