UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUI

JUL 24 2017

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEARING OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

RECEIVE Dew York, State of Illinois, State of Iowa, State of Maine, State of Maryland, Commonwealth of Massachusetts, State of New Mexico, State of Oregon, State of Rhode Island,

Petitioners.

E. Scott Pruitt, as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, and the **Environmental Protection Agency,**

State of Vermont, and the State of Washington,

v.

Respondents.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT 24 2017 **CLERK**

17-1181

Case No. 17-

PETITION FOR REVIEW

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 15, Circuit Rule 15, and section 307(b) of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7607(b), New York, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington ("State Petitioners") petition this Court to review the final agency action of Respondents entitled "Accidental Release Prevention Requirements: Risk Management Programs under the Clean Air Act; Further Delay of Effective Date," 82 Fed. Reg. 27,133 (June 14, 2017) ("Delay Rule").

State Petitioners seek a determination by this Court pursuant to section 307(d)(9) of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7607(b), that the Delay Rule is unlawful and therefore must be vacated.

Dated: July 21, 2017

Respectfully Submitted,

FOR THE STATE OF NEW YORK

ERIC T. SCHNEIDERMAN ATTORNEY GENERAL

MICHAEL J. MYERS

Senior Counsel®

LAURA MIRMAN-HESLIN

Assistant Attorney General

Environmental Protection Bureau

The Capitol

Albany, NY 12224

(518) 776-2400

FOR THE STATE OF IOWA

TOM MILLER ATTORNEY GENERAL

JACOB LARSON ferauth Assistant Attorney General

Assistant Attorney General Environmental Law Division Hoover State Office Building 1305 E. Walnut St., 2nd Floor Des Moines, IA 50319

(515) 281-5341

FOR THE STATE OF MAINE

JANET T. MILLS ATTORNEY GENERAL

GERALD D. REID

Natural Resources Division Chief

6 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333

(207) 626-8800

FOR THE STATE OF MARYLAND

BRIAN E. FROSH ATTORNEY GENERAL

STEVEN M. SULLIVAN perauth.
Solicitor General
200 St. Paul Place, 20th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 576-6427

FOR THE STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

PETER F. KILMARTIN ATTORNEY GENERAL

GREGORY'S. SCHULTZ

Special Assistant Attorney General

Rhode Island Department of

Attorney General 150 South Main Street Providence, RI 02903

(401) 274-4400

FOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

MAURA HEALY ATTORNEY GENERAL

CHRISTOPHE COURCHESNE CONTROL CONTROL

Boston, MA 02108 (617) 963-2423

FOR THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

ROBERT W. FERGUSON ATTORNEY GENERAL

WILLIAM R. SHERMAN Assistant Attorney General

Counsel for Environmental

Protection 800 5th Ave Suite 2000, TB-14 Seattle, WA 98104-3188 (206) 442-4485 FOR THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

HECTOR H. BALDERAS ATTORNEY GENERAL

WILLIAM GRANTHAM percents
BRIAN E. McMATH
Consumer & Environmental
Protection Division
New Mexico Office of the Attorney
General
201 Third St. NW, Suite 300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
(505) 717-3500

FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

ELLEN F. ROSENBLUM ATTORNEY GENERAL

PAUL GARRAHAN perauth.
Attorney-in-Charge
Natural Resources Section
Oregon Department of Justice
1162 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301-4096
(503) 947-4593

FOR THE STATE OF ILLINOIS

LISA MADIGAN ATTORNEY GENERAL

MATTHEW J. DUNN
GERALD T. KARR
JAMES P. GIGNAC
Assistant Attorneys General
Illinois Attorney General's Office
69 W. Washington St., 18th Floor
Chicago, IL 60602
(312) 814-0660

FOR THE STATE OF VERMONT

THOMAS J. DONOVAN, JR. ATTORNEY GENERAL

NICHOLAS F. PERSAMPIERI
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
109 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05609 (802) 828-6902

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that pursuant to Circuit Rule 15(a), a copy of the foregoing Petition for Review was served on July 21, 2017 by first class mail, postage prepaid on the following:

Hon. E. Scott Pruitt, Administrator Office of the Administrator (1101A) Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20460

Hon. Jeff Sessions Attorney General of the United States U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20530

MICHAEL J/MYERS