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BROKER-DEALER AND SECURITIES 

REGISTRATION INFORMATION SHEET* 
 

Statutory Authority General Business Law (“GBL”), 
Article 23-A, §359-e and § 359-f and 
Supplementing Department Regulations 
New York Codes, Rules and Regulations 

Title 13 Part 10 Brokers, Dealers and Salespersons 
 

 I.  ISSUERS OF SECURITIES* 
 
 A.  All issuers of securities shall register as Broker-Dealers by filing*: 
     1.  Securities Offerings:  M-11 Issuer Statement 

 Regulation A, Tier 1 Offering [1933 Act §3(b)(1)]   
 Public Offerings (Rule 504, Rule 505, Other Non-Covered Public Offerings)   

     [1933 Act] 
     2.  Covered Securities:  Form 99 

 Offering to “Qualified Purchasers” [Securities Act of 1933 (“1933 Act”), as      
amended §18(b)(3)] 

 Rule 506 Offering [1933 Act §4)2)- per §18(b)(4)(D)] 
 Regulation A, Tier 2 Offering [1933 Act §3(b)(2)-per §§18(b)(4)(D)(ii) 
 Other Covered Offerings 

     3.  Fees:  $300.00 for total offerings $500,000 or less, $1,200.00 for total offerings     
                over $500,000.  The fee is made payable to New York State Department of          



                Law. 
     4.  State Notice and Further State Notice ($75.00 fee each).** 
     5.  Consent to Service of Process or U-2 for non-resident issuer (total fee $35.00).** 
 

B. All issuers of Open End Investment companies shall register as Broker-Dealers by filing: 
 

1. Form NF 
(Total fee $1,200.00) Fee is made payable to New York State Department of  

              Law. 
2. State Notice and Further State Notice 

($75.00) fee each)** 
3. Consent to Service of Process or U-2 for non-resident issuers 

(Total fee $35.00)** 
 

C. If the issue is being sold by a registered Broker-Dealer on a Best Efforts 
basis, the issuer must register as in A. above. 

 
D. If the issue is being sold by a registered Broker-Dealer on a Firm 

Commitment basis, only a Further State Notice need be filed by either the 
issuer or the underwriter. 

 
E. Issuers selling securities pursuant to SEC Regulation D must either register as 

in A. above or file for an exemption as described in Section II of this 
instruction sheet which follows. 

 
F. Offering literature must be included with the M-11 and the Form 99.  There is 

no N.Y. requirement for any prospectus or offering literature to be specifically 
prepared.  If there is none, none need be submitted.  However, you are 
required to refer to the absence of any offering literature in your cover letter.  
There are no legend requirements. 

 
G. No offers or sales of securities may be made until the registration statement is accepted 

for filing. 
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1. Pursuant to GBL § 359e(9), the Issuer Statement is filed when 

received, if complete. 
2. The Department of Law will notify you or return the filing if it is 

incomplete. 
3. The fee receipt is the only tangible evidence of registration that 

you will receive. 
 

a. Keep this for renewal purposes. 
b. Refer to it and your file number on any correspondence 

with the Department of Law. 
 

4. The Issuer Statement must be renewed every four years, if 
securities are to be issued. 

5. The renewal date and file number appear on the fee receipt 
received after the application is fully processed. 

 
H. The Issuer statement is good for four years.  During that time additional 

securities issues require only the filing of a Further State Notice. 
 
II. EXEMPTIONS FROM REGISTRATION*** 
 

A. Issuers seeking an exemption shall file pursuant to GBL § 359f(2)a, b, c, d, 
or e.  (See statute for available grounds for exemptions.) 

 
1. Only Issuers qualify to file for an exemption. 
2. GBL § 359f(2)d applies only to securities offered to fewer than 40 

offerees (not purchasers) both within and without the State of New 
York. 

 
B. Filing Requirements for Exemption Application 
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1. Verified petition or affidavit as prescribed by the Issuer Exemption 
Instruction Sheet ($300.00 fee).  The fee is made payable to the 
New York State Department of Law. 

2. Further State Notice unless exempt under GBL § 359f(1) ($75.00 
fee).** 

3. If you are filing the Further State Notice, there is no fee for the 
State Notice portion of the form under the GBL § 359(f)(2) 
exemption application process.  

4. Consent to Service of Process or U-2 for non-resident issuers 
(total fee $35.00).** 

5. RI-1 forms for exemption applications made pursuant to GBL § 
359f(2)d (no fee). 

 
C. All exemptions are subject to review. 

 
1. No offers or sales may be made within or from the State of New 

York unless and until the application for exemption has been 
granted. 

2. Upon completion of review period you will receive a letter of 
notification. 

3. Each additional offering of securities by the issuer requires a new 
application for exemption or registration as described in Section IA 
of this information sheet. 

 
III. BROKER DEALERS (Excluding Issuers) 
 

A. Non FINRA Broker-Dealers shall file: 
 

1. Form M-1 ($1,200.00 fee for 4 years). The fee is made payable 
to the New York State Department of Law. 

2. State Notice ($75.00 fee).** 
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3. Consent to Service of Process or U-2 for non-resident issuers or 
brokerage firms (total fee $35.00).** 

4. Latest financial statement. 
 

B. Registration for Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) Broker-Dealers 
 

1. Must register through the Central Registration Depository (CRD) 
Public Disclosure Department, P.O. Box 9401, Gaithersburg, MD 
20898-9401.  All pertinent information is received through the 
CRD by the New York State Department of Law. 

 
C. No offers or sales can take place until the Brokers-Dealer Statement is 

accepted for filing. 
1. See Section I.G. of this instruction sheet for details on acceptance. 
2. Non FINRA Broker-Dealer Registration is renewed four years after 

the effective date on the fee receipt. 
3. FINRA Member Broker-Dealers renew every year at year end 

through the CRD. 
 

D. Fingerprinting Requirements for Broker-Dealers and Salespersons. 
 

1. If fingerprints are on file with FINRA or the SEC, or any of the 
major exchanges they need not be filed with N.Y. 

2. For inquiries regarding fingerprinting, call for information at (212) 
416-8222. 

 
E. Officers, directors, principals or partners may offer and sell securities within or 

from the State of New York when they are listed on the form M-1 or BD.  
They do not have to register separately as salespersons. 

 
F. There are no test requirements for officers, directors, principals or partners of 

Broker-Dealers in New York. 
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IV. SALESPERSONS 
 

A. Salespersons of Non-FINRA member firms must: 
 

1. File the forms M-2 ($150.00 fee) for 4 years or M-4 ($30.00 
fee) with the Department of Law.  The fee is made payable to the 
New York State Department of Law. 

2. Amend their registration with an M-4 for the following changes: 
 

a. Address. 
b. Name. 
c. Employment. 
d. Disciplinary actions. 

 
3. Must take the Series 63 Exam (U.S.A.S.L.E.) or Series 66 Exam. 

a. if salesperson was registered as an officer, director, 
principal or partner, or a salesperson in New York 
between the dates of September 26, 1981 and 
September 26, 1983, that person may be exempt from 
the exam. 

b. Contact FINRA, (212) 858-4000, for a test booklet 
and application form. 

 
4. For specific information consult Part 10 to Title 13 NYCRR 

Brokers, Dealers and Salespersons. 
 

B. Salespersons of FINRA member firms: 
 

1. Must register through the Central Registration Depository (CRD) 
Public Disclosure Department, P.O. Box 9401, Gaithersburg, MD 
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20898-9401. All pertinent information is received through the CRD 
by the New York State Department of Law. 

2. Must take Series 63 or Series 66 exam unless they are exempt 
because they were registered as an officer, director, principal or 
partner of a New York registered Broker-Dealer between the dates 
of September 26, 1981 and September 26, 1983. 

3. For specific information consult Part 10 to Title 13 NYCRR 
Brokers, Dealers and Salesperson. 

 
V. AMENDING THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT 
 

A. The Supplemental Broker-Dealer Statement (M-3) must be filed within 30 
days, by Issuers and Non FINRA Broker-Dealers when the following changes 
occur:  (Filing fee $30.00)  The fee is made payable to the New York State 
Department of Law. 
1. Address of company. 
2. Name of company. 
3. Officers, directors, or principals added or terminated. 
4. Addition or subtraction of salespersons for non-FINRA member 

firms. 
5. Termination of dealership. 
6. Report of disciplinary proceedings. 

 
B. Changes occurring within 30 days of each other may be filed on one M-3 

with one $30.00 fee. 
 

C. FINRA Member Broker-Dealers amend directly and solely through the CRD on an 
amended form BD (no fee). 

 
VI. OBTAINING FORMS 
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A. Call for forms (212) 416-8222 or check the web address 
www.ag.ny.gov/bureau/investor-protection-bureau. 

 
B. Write for forms:  Attention:  Registration Section, New York State Department 

of Law, Investor Protection Bureau, 120 Broadway, 23rd Floor, New York, 
New York 10271. 
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PLEASE CONTACT THE REAL ESTATE FINANCE BUREAU REGARDING REAL ESTATE 
BROKER-DEALERS FILINGS. 
 

 Issuers of Real Estate or Mortgage securities (including corporate stock, bonds and 
 debentures if the corporation is in a real estate business) must also comply with GBL 
 § 352-e of the General Business Law.  Such issuers must submit a filing and obtain 
 an exemption letter upon written application from the Bureau of Real Estate Financing. 

 
 Issuers making intrastate (only in New York) offerings of securities (where the 

 business is not primarily real estate) must comply with GBL § 359ff of the General 
 Business Law by filing a prospectus and obtaining a filing letter or by obtaining an 
 exemption letter on written application pursuant to the Intrastate Financing Act 
 Regulations, from the Bureau of Real Estate Financing. 

 
 Appropriate instruction and forms for an offering of real estate or mortgage securities 

 are:  GBL § 352-g Exemption Instructions; Regulation D Exemption Instruction; Part 
 16, Syndication Regulation; copies of Form RI-1; the Further State Notice; and the 
 Designation Form.  Appropriate instructions and forms for an intrastate offering of 
 securities are:  The Intrastate Financing Act Regulations; Form Intrastate 1; Form M-
 11; and the State Notice and Further State Notice Form. 

 
 Information, forms and instruction for the above offerings can be obtained by calling 

 (212) 416-8123; or by writing to: 
 

Public Information Office 
Real Estate Finance Bureau 
Department of Law 
120 Broadway, 23rd Floor 
New York, NY 10271 

 
 
__________________________________________ 
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 * Issuers of Real Estate or Mortgage securities, or Intrastate Issuers, see page 6. 
 
** The State Notice and Further State Notice and the accompanying fees must be filed with NYS 

Department of State, State Records, One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, 
New York 12231-0001.  

 
 The Consent to Service of Process or U2 and the accompanying must be filed with NYS 

Department of State, Division of Corporations, One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, 
Suite 600, Albany, New York 12231.  

 
*** The granting of an exemption herein only exempts the Issuer from filing the M-11, State 

Notice, and renewal procedures as described in I. Above. 
 
 
 
 
 


