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 MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE 

As of July 24 2009, the New York State 
Minimum Wage Is $7.25/Hour.

   
Minimum Minimum Overtime

 3/00- 12/04: $5.15/hour   $7.73 overtime/hour 
 2005:      $6.00/hour   $9.00 overtime/hour 
 2006:      $6.75/hour   $10.13 overtime/hour 
 2007:      $7.15/hour   $10.73 overtime/hour 

7/24/09:      $7.25/hour   $10.88 overtime/hour 

Overtime:  Overtime hours are hours worked after you have already 
worked forty hours in one work week. For example, if you work more than 
40 hours in a work week, you are entitled to be paid 1 and 1/2 times your  
regular hourly rate. If you earn the minimum wage and work 50 hours 
during one work week: 

  40 hours x $7.25   = $290.00 
10 hours overtime x $10.88 = $108.80

   Total wages owed   = $398.80/week 
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Tipped employees: If you regularly receive tips from customers, your employer may 
deduct a limited amount of money—called a “tip credit”—from the minimum wage 
that would otherwise be required.   The allowable tip credits vary by industry and 
may depend on your job duties. These are the minimum wages allowed for most 
tipped workers. (HOWEVER, even if your employer takes a tip credit, your 
hourly rate including tips must be at least equal to the minimum wage of $7.25 
per hour during each work week):

Restaurant Waiters and Other Servers 

 3/00-12/04: $3.30/hour minimum & overtime $5.88/hour 
 2005:   $3.85/hour minimum & overtime $6.85/hour
 2006:   $4.35/hour minimum & overtime $7.73/hour
 2007:   $4.60/hour minimum & overtime $8.18/hour
7/24/2009:    $4.65/hour minimum & overtime $8.28/hour 

Other Restaurant Tipped Workers
(e.g.  Food Delivery Workers)

 3/00-12/04: $3.50/hour minimum & overtime $6.08/hour  
 2005:   $4.10/hour minimum & overtime $7.10/hour
 2006:   $4.60/hour minimum & overtime $7.98/hour
 2007:   $4.85/hour minimum & overtime $8.43/hour
7/24/2009:    $4.90/hour minimum & overtime $8.53/hour  

Most Other Tipped Workers (e.g., Laundry Delivery, Spas) 

3/00-12/04: $3.90/hour minimum & overtime $6.48/hour  
 2005:   $4.55/hour minimum & overtime $7.55/hour
 2006:   $5.10/hour minimum & overtime $8.48/hour
 2007:   $5.40/hour minimum & overtime $8.98/hour 
7/24/2009:    $5.40/hour minimum & overtime $8.98/hour   

If you receive meals or lodging, this may affect your wages. If your tips are less 
than what the law requires for your employer to use the “tip credit,” this may also 
affect your wages.

Need Information?  Have a Question?
If you have questions about your wage and hour or other employment rights, please 
call the Labor Bureau of the New York State Attorney General’s Office at (212) 416-
8700 or visit us on our website at www.ag.ny.gov.

http://www.oag.state.ny.us.
http://www.oag.state.ny.us.

