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         MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE 

Starting on January 1, 2005, the New
York State Minimum Wage Has

Increased to $6.00/Hour

Minimum Wage: The New York State minimum wage is now
$6.00/hour.   Most employees working in New York State must now
receive an hourly wage of at least $6.00.  This is higher than the
current federal minimum wage of $5.15/hour.

Overtime: An employee who receives the minimum wage
of $6.00/hour is entitled to receive $9.00/hour (1½ times the
regular minimum wage rate) for any overtime hours.
Overtime hours are hours worked after you have already
worked forty hours in one workweek. 

Example:  If you work 50 hours during one workweek, you should be
paid:
             40 hours x $6=                               $240
             10 hours overtime x $9=                    90
             Total wages owed for the week=   $330

Tipped employees:  When paying employees who regularly receive
tips from customers, employers are allowed to deduct a
limited amount of money—called a “tip credit”—from
the minimum wage that would otherwise be required.
Thus, employers may pay a reduced minimum wage to

tipped employees.  The allowable tip credits vary from industry to
industry.  New tip credits have also gone into effect on January 1,
2005.

Examples:  Food service workers in the restaurant and hotel industries
who earn at least $2.15/hour in tips may be paid a
reduced minimum hourly wage of  a t  l ea s t
$3.85/hour.

          Other restaurant workers (for example, delivery
workers) and most other hotel workers who receive at least $1.90/hour
in tips may be paid a reduced minimum hourly wage of at least
$4.10/hour.

        Most other workers in all other industries who receive at
                    least $1.45 per hour in tips, may be paid a reduced        
                     minimum hourly wage of at least $4.55/hour.

Meals and Lodging: Employers may deduct a limited  amount from
the minimum wage (usually limited to $1.85 to $2.05) for each
meal provided to an employee.  Employers may also deduct a
limited amount from the minimum wage, as set by state law, if

they provide lodging to their employees.

Future Increases: The New York State minimum wage
will increase to $6.75/hour on January 1, 2006 and to
$7.15/hour on January 1, 2007.

If you have questions about your wage and hour rights, or if you are
not being paid at least $6.00 per hour, please call the Labor Bureau
of the New York State Attorney General’s Office at (212) 416-8700

or you can contact us on our website at www.oag.ny.gov 
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