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Dear New Yorkers,

On the Job

Employee’s Rights 
in the Workplace 

No matter your workplace or the length of your 
shift or your immigration status, New York State 
protects the rights of all workers. Everyone is 
entitled to basic protections and lawful wages 
for the hours they work.

As Attorney General, I want you to know your 
rights as an employee under state law, and 
where you can find help if those rights are being 
violated. My office investigates complaints of 
persistent labor law violations and can bring 
lawsuits against the employers involved.

New York’s workforce is the engine of a strong 
economy, and it is important that workers be 
treated fairly and paid what they are owed. If 
you think your rights have been violated or have 
questions about workplace practices, please 
contact my office’s Labor Bureau.

Sincerely,

Right to Worker Protection

New York State Office of the
Attorney General, Labor Bureau
(212) 416-8700  /   (800) 651-7820 – TDD 
labor.bureau@ag.ny.gov
ag.ny.gov/bureaus/labor

New York State Labor Department
(888) 469-7365   /   (800) 662-1220 – TTY
labor.ny.gov

Unemployment Insurance Program
888-209-8124    /    labor.ny.gov/unemploymentassistance.shtm

Right to Join a Union

National Labor Relations Board
(844) 762-6572    /    https://www.nlrb.gov

Right to Compensation for Injury

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
(877) 632-4996    /    wcb.ny.gov

Right to Safe Working CondiitionsConditions
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
(800)-321-6742   /  (  877) 889-5627  TTY
osha.gov
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“Tipped” Employees:
Workers who regularly receive money in tips may be paid at a lower 
hourly rate. For example, in a New York City hotel with more than ten 
employees, hospitality workers may be paid $8.65 per hour if they 
earn at least $4.35 per hour in tips. This is called the “tip allowance.” 
The amount of the allowance varies by the industry, the region 
of the state, and the number of employees at your workplace, so 
contact the Department of Labor to find out if you are being paid 
correctly. Managers and owners may not take a share of tips.

Overtime:
Most workers have the right to be paid overtime. Overtime is 
calculated on a weekly basis: you should be paid at 1 ½ times your 
regular hourly rate for each hour worked past forty in a given week. 
For example, if your regular rate is $15 per hour, you should be paid 
$22.50 per hour for each overtime hour. If you are paid a daily 
or weekly rate, instead of an hourly rate, you should still receive 
overtime pay.

Prevailing Wage:
If you worked in the construction of a public building or project, like 
a school or a police station, you are entitled to be paid a rate called 
the prevailing wage, which is higher than the minimum wage. The 
exact amount of the prevailing wage owed depends on the type of 
work you did.

Regular Paydays:
Your employer must pay you regularly and on time. Manual workers 
should get a paycheck each week and clerical workers must be paid 
at least twice a month.

Breaks:
If you work more than 6 hours, you should get a half hour meal 
break away from your work station. Your employer does not have to 
pay you for this time. Your employer must pay you for any breaks of 
less than 20 minutes.

Required Record Keeping:
Your employer must keep detailed records of the hours you worked, 
the wages paid, and any deductions made from wages. It is a good 
idea to keep track of your hours and overtime for your 
own reference.

Payroll Deductions:
Your employer must get your written permission to make 
deductions from your paycheck, and must also inform you in writing 
of any deductions made. Your employer may not make deductions for 
cash shortages, stolen or damaged property, 
or for unsatisfactory work.

Paid Family Leave:
Most New York workers are eligible for paid family leave benefits. You 
can take up to eight weeks off for parental leave or to care for certain 
relatives while earning a percentage of your weekly wage. Workers 
qualify depending on how many regularly scheduled hours you work 
per week. You do not need to use your sick days or vacation days 
before you use your paid family leave benefits.

These benefits will increase on January 1, 2019. For more information, 
please call the Paid Family Leave toll-free helpline at
(844) 337-6303 or visit  ny.gov/paidfamilyleave.

Protection from Discrimination:
It is illegal to discriminate against employees based on age, race, 
religion, color, national origin, sexual orientation, military status, sex, 
disability, familial status, predisposing genetic characteristics, or 
marital status. Contact the New York State Division of Human Rights at 
(888) 392-3644 or dhr.ny.gov or the Attorney General’s Civil Rights 
Bureau at (212) 416-8250.

Misclassification and Payroll Fraud:
Your employer cannot seek to avoid complying with labor laws by 
paying you off the books or treating you as an independent contractor 
when you are, in fact, an employee. If your employer supervises, directs, 
or controls your work then you are probably an employee.

Retaliation is Illegal:
You have the right to complain to your employer or to a government 
agency, including the Office of the Attorney General, if you believe your 
rights are being violated. It is illegal for employers to punish you or 
retaliate against you in any way for making complaints of this nature. 
Unlawful retaliation may include termination, discipline, changing 
your work schedule, or threatening to report workers to immigration 
authorities.

Minimum Wage:
New York’s minimum wage varies by region and employer 
size, as shown in the below chart:

*They will be based on percentage increases determined by 
the Director of the Division of Budget, based on economic 
indices, including the Consumer Price Index. 

These rates will continue to increase each year until the 
statewide minimum wage is $15.00. The minimum wage for 
some workers, such as fast food or janitorial workers, may 
differ, so contact the New York State Department of Labor at 
(800) 662-1220 or labor.ny.gov to find out if you are being 
paid correctly. Unless you regularly receive tips as part of your 
job, employers may not pay less than the minimum wage.

NYC: 11 
or more 
workers

NYC: 
10 or 
Less 
Workers

Long 
Island & 
Westchester

Remainder 
of New 
York State

Dec. 31, 2017 $13.00 $12.00 $11.00 $10.40

Dec. 31, 2018 $15.00 $13.50 $12.00 $11.10

Dec. 31, 2019 - $15.00 $13.00 $11.80

Dec. 31, 2020 - - $14.00 $12.50

Dec. 31, 2021 - - $15.00 *

Immigration Status:
Labor laws protect all workers, and employers must pay 
all workers for all hours worked, regardless  of immigration 
status. This applies even if an employer knew or later learned 
that a worker does not have legal authorization to work. The 
Labor Bureau does not ask about immigration status and has 
recovered wages for workers regardless of that status.


